3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Point Me in the Right Direction  (Read 699 times)

Offline Joshua E. Williams

• Trad Bowhunter
Point Me in the Right Direction
« on: July 20, 2014, 03:11:00 PM »
Hey All,

I am new to archery, bow hunting, and to this community. I got my bow in February, and I bought a set of arrows just to start out. But, now I am about to buy some new arrows. Will some one point me in the right direction on this blog to some posts where I can learn about what I am looking for in buying some arrows? Any posts would help!

Thanks everyone, and glad you have created this sight!!

Josh
"Only let your manner of life be worthy of the gospel of Christ..."
- Philippians 1:27b

Offline Rob W.

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Point Me in the Right Direction
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2014, 03:15:00 PM »
What bow, weight, and draw length are you shooting? Also, do you have a certain broadhead in mind and what do you intend to hunt?

And welcome to the Gang.
This stuff ain't no rocket surgery science!

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2014, 03:42:00 PM »
I have a Samick Sage Take down. 50 pounds at 28" Draw length. And, I have a Bear Grizzly (I think it is) at 50 Pounds at 28" Draw length that a friend gave me recently. I haven't invested in broad heads yet because I am practicing/learning. I hope to hunt everything, but practically that looks like boar and white tail for right now (and any rodents for fun along the way).

Offline Rob W.

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2014, 03:50:00 PM »
I really like Carbon express heritage shafts and Gold tips.

If I were starting out I would probably go with Big Jims GT blems and save some money on a great shaft. Depending on your preferred point weight you will probably need a 3555.