3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Why wool?  (Read 1367 times)

Offline aim small...release

• Trad Bowhunter
Why wool?
« on: August 16, 2014, 09:12:00 PM »
Hey everyone got a question. I see that theres a new wool coat out by hunter image. The gray timber looks great. Other than warmth why do you choose wool over lets say the scent block suit that i have now. This may be a dumb ? But i am a newbie lol thanks as always
Take a deep breath and pick a spot

Offline Sean B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Why wool?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2014, 09:27:00 PM »
Not a dumb question.  For the most part, wool will keep you warm when wet, synthetics will not.  Sent block "technology" is more of a gimmick. As a police officer, I've worked with K9's and understand how the nose of an animal works. Many believe in it. Personally I prefer wool, over fleece or goretex. you don't need as this of a layer of wool as you do others.
Sean
PBS Regular Member
Comptons
NY Bowhunters Association
BW KB X
BW PCH X
BW PSR X
Robertson Tribal Styk

Offline Rob W.

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2014, 09:28:00 PM »
It is warm, insulates when wet, doesn't stink as bad on extended hunts, and reflects less light.

That said I like it for my base layers and maybe a sweater. I don't dig wool pants that much.
This stuff ain't no rocket surgery science!

Offline longbow fanatic 1

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2014, 09:31:00 PM »
There is no other reason, IMHO, than warmth for outer wear. In truly cold conditions, nothing is better!

Offline ron w

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2014, 09:41:00 PM »
The only better than wool is another layer of it.