3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: arrow effect on broadheads.  (Read 713 times)

Offline D.J. Carr

• Trad Bowhunter
arrow effect on broadheads.
« on: August 29, 2014, 09:21:00 AM »
I started shooting broadheads a week ago, and no matter what I did I couldn't make them shoot consistently.  After a couple frustrating days, I decided it was the broadheads... so I ordered another brand, known to shoot well.  New heads came and result was the same.  I went as far as turning blades to all angles, and adding weight washers to the front... After I had pulled out the limited hair I had left I decided to try different arrows.  (I have been shooting 5575's and 400 spines, they shoot identical, bare shafted the same, and total arrow weight is within 30 grains. My mindset was 5575's are my "good" arrows, and 400's were laying around.. so if I lose them at a shoot, or stump shooting...)
So I screwed the broadhead on the 400 spine arrow and it flew awesome, it must have been a fluke, so I shot again, and again, and again. So out of curiousity I tried the original broadhead I purchased and yup they shot awesome to.
So now my "I don't care if I lose them" arrows are my hunting arrows.

Anyone experience anything like this? or have any logical explanation.

When I say I couldn't make them shoot, I mean erratic, at 15 yards, 1 would be 6 inches left and 8 inches low, and the next 1 would sail a foot over the target, and the flight was terrible, you could see the arrow doing crazy things in the air at times.
An archer tries to find ways to shoot further more accurately, a bowhunter tries to get as close as possible to ensure his shot is accurate.

Offline mike g

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: arrow effect on broadheads.