3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Longbow without leather grip ???????  (Read 1006 times)

Offline skychief

• Trad Bowhunter
Longbow without leather grip ???????
« on: September 13, 2014, 11:52:00 PM »
Do any of you longbow shooters use a longbow without leather wrapped grips?

I ask because I am fairly new to using them and my only longbow has no wrap on the grip.

I don't think I have ever seen a longbow at the shoots I attend without a wrap.

Am I missing anything without the wrap (especially in terms of shootability or forgiveness).

Thanks for any thoughts on pros/cons of wrapping the grip with leather.

I am shooting a deflex/reflex, 60" Striker Stinger if that is useful for your reply.

Thanks, Skychief.

Offline Cavscout9753

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Longbow without leather grip ???????
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2014, 12:17:00 AM »
I don't have one and don't intend to get one. With a locator or shaped grip I don't find I need one like I would imagine if I shot a hill style, straighter grip. Certainly just a preference thing, no "one style fits all". Plus the wood grain on my DD Stik is too gorgeous to cover up!
ΙΧΘΥΣ

Offline skychief

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2014, 09:25:00 AM »
Thanks CavScout.   Anybody else?

Offline ChuckC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2014, 09:34:00 AM »