3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: I've got a noisy Bear Super Griz....any help/advice?  (Read 733 times)

Offline dnurk

• Trad Bowhunter
I've got a noisy Bear Super Griz....any help/advice?
« on: September 16, 2014, 03:37:00 PM »
Hi all

I'm very new to the trad world coming over after 30 years of compound hunting.   Love this site and have enjoyed all of the information here (the term "down the rabbit hole" comes to mind....

I just started shooting a bow I've had in the closet for years.  It is a Greyling-era Bear Super Grizzly.   58" and 40# AMO

I've got fur silencers on it and have been experimenting with a number of different arrows as I try to get it tuned but I'm not real pleased with how loud the bow is.  There is a definite "twang" sound regardless of what I'm shooting out of it.  

Is this a common thing with this era bow in this length?   Should I contemplate padding the area below the string notches to try and reduce some string slap?

I'm also thinking the brace height might be too short.  It is currently a smidge under 7 3/4 inches.  I checked the string (which has been with the bow for decades) and it is indeed a 54" string.   Perhaps I should add some twist and try to get the brace height distance a little bit larger?  

Any other thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Couple of obligatory pics...

Offline ron w

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: I've got a noisy Bear Super Griz....any help/advice?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2014, 03:43:00 PM »