3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: ProFin and Testors paint  (Read 1580 times)

Offline Lone Ranger

• Trad Bowhunter
ProFin and Testors paint
« on: September 24, 2014, 08:23:00 AM »
I am posting this for others to use as a reference. I could not find anywhere using the search function a PHOTO of what testors paint people were using for cresting. I have been making my own arrows for the last 4 or 5 years now and as such I am fairly well versed. I have used testors on ALL of my previous arrows (hand rubbed finishes, gasket laquer, etc...) Now I have switched to ProFin but after reading and reading and reading (and a BUNCH of messages to Snag) Snag was a HUGE help btw, but since I am "slightly" ocd I still could not find concrete evidence of exactly what would work and what would not work with the ProFin finish.

Testors makes a lot of different paint, enamel, and acrylic. Testors has several different brands or labeling as well- ModelMasters being the most prevalent.

All of my shafts have a green stain and a white cap. I mark off the start of the cap with masking tape and only stain the forward part of the shaft. After the stain had dried (2 days) I sand each shaft with steel wool and dip knock down into the profin and hang each shaft to dry. sand each shaft after 24 hours and repeat the dip (this time point down) after the finish has dried (again 24 hours) I sand with steel wool and tape the shaft from the end of the stain towards the point to prep for the cap paint. The paint I used to spray the cap is Rust-oleum painters touch ultra cover (2x coverage)

this paint sprays much heavier than I would like it to- watch for drips and runs!