3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: UPDATE: Frustrated with sharpening Simmons Broadheads  (Read 2279 times)

Offline DaveT1963

• Trad Bowhunter
UPDATE: Frustrated with sharpening Simmons Broadheads
« on: September 26, 2014, 07:58:00 AM »
I've been using the shorter Simmons interceptors for several years never had a problem sharpening them.  They took a little longer then I like but I was able to get a satisfactory edge on them.   Made the switch to the longer safari this year and for the life of me I cannot get them razor sharp.  I've tried the jewel stick, paper wheel, file. Steel Master,and Rada and none of them get these heads razor sharp.

In the past I was always able to get a razor edge on Zwickey, Magnus, Bear and a host of other broadheads with nothing but a mill file and leather strop.  I can get a razor edge in minutes on my knives with a paper wheel.

I like these heads and don’t want to make a change as I have been shooting them all year ……but I am spending far too much time trying to get a razor edge on them and spending way too much money buying sharpening systems for something that used to take me about 5 minutes per head to do.

Season opens in 4 days and I don't even have one razor sharp head.  Taking them to a professional knife sharpener tonight to see if he can get a razor edge on these.  I am beginning to think it is the steel?  I am going to try to get a hold of Dave again this morning to see what he thinks.  I’ve tried the methods he suggested in our last conversation but have not had any luck.

Anyone else having trouble with the Safrai heads?
Everything has a price - the more we accept, the more the cost

Caribow Tuktu ET 53# @ 27 Inches
Thunderhorn takedown longbow 55# @ 27
Lots of James Berry Bows

Offline Tajue17