3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Any idea if this is safe (laminate cracks)?  (Read 725 times)

Offline mlsthmpsn

• Trad Bowhunter
Any idea if this is safe (laminate cracks)?
« on: September 30, 2014, 12:13:00 PM »
I am new to bow hunting all-together. I went and got my Dad's old recurve down from storage to see if it was usable.

Here are the pics:

Sorry for the poor focus...

So, what do you guys think?

Thanks in advance,

MT
MT
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Save me, O God! For the waters have come up to my neck. - Psalm 69:1

Online ChristopherO

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Any idea if this is safe (laminate cracks)?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2014, 12:32:00 PM »
On all wood one piece bows (self bows) it has been written that longitudal cracks will not affect the safety or performance of a bow.  With all those laminates under the cracked fiberglass I would suspect that it will hold up if used carefully.  I would not pull it to full draw right away but slowly, over time pull the limbs a little at a time over days to see how it accepts the movement.  Any clicking or creaking sounds and its a wall hanger.

was it, by chance, stored in an attic or very hot area?  That would make me more suspect of it.  Then the cracks could be running all the way through the the wood lams underneath, too.

Offline ChuckC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2014, 12:40:00 PM »
My question is. . why did it do that ?  I suspect high heat / cold and drying out / shrinking.  I myself would not string that bow.

ChuckC

Offline mlsthmpsn

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2014, 12:42:00 PM »
Originally posted by ChristopherO: