3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Newbie bow selection  (Read 533 times)

Offline Krex1010

• Trad Bowhunter
Newbie bow selection
« on: October 28, 2014, 09:54:00 AM »
Question for anyone who wants to lay some knowledge on a newbie.  I'm looking to buy my first traditional bow, most likely a longbow, probably a bear Montana, haven't ruled out the grizzly though. I'd like to be able to hunt with the bow I get, but I also want to keep the draw weight downs bit since I'm just starting out. I'm probably going with a 40 or 45 lb bow. I've taken a couple shots before with both weights, both seem comfortable but I'm sure after a couple dozen shots I may feel te difference more. So to the folks with much more experience than I.....does 5 lbs make a considerable difference in learning proper form? Does 5 lbs make a considerable difference when it comes to hunting whitetails? For reference I'm 36 years old, 5'9" in decent shape, reasonably strong, 28" draw length.
"You can't cheat the mountain pilgrim"

Offline DanielB89

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Newbie bow selection
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2014, 10:07:00 AM »
If  I were you I would get the #45. The reason I say the #45 is that you may get tired, but with more practice those muscles will get stronger and #45 is still a very capable hunting weight.  You will be thankful for that poundage on cold mornings! It also shouldn't be too much to learn proper form on, but be sure you aren't just "feeling out the form" and that you actually have a practice regiment or goal to obtain.  not just going out and shooting.  There is a forum that is all about form, etc.Here is a link to it:

http://tradgang.com/noncgi/ultimatebb.php?ubb=forum;f=6