3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Please help clear this up. Arrows too heavy/too light FOC?  (Read 594 times)

Offline mrgreen

• Trad Bowhunter
Please help clear this up. Arrows too heavy/too light FOC?
« on: November 20, 2014, 01:44:00 PM »
I've been bowhunting for a few years now, compound bow, sorry.
But I've been working on my skills with my recurve because I'd like to use it for deer.
So here it is;
I'm shooting a 55lb recurve and drawing 28". Arrows are CE Heritage 250s cut at 29.5", with a 125gr point (either field or broadhead)
My arrows had 4" para LH fletch (I'm right handed). Arrows seemed fine, shooting indoors. Last week I started shooting outdoors at hunting distances ( 20-25 yds) with a moderate crosswind and I noticed my group opened from about 10" at 20yds indoors to about 3' in these conditions.
From all I've read here over the last couple of years I suspected;
 1) My arrows were spined correctly but need weight added, especially up front to improve the FOC.
2) The 4" fletchings were too straight to spin the arrow and too short to stabilize the flight with any crosswind.

The confusion comes from advice given by a good friend who's the best recurve shooter I know. He happens to be self taught.
He advises leave the fletchings alone, and use a lighter field point/ broadhead.

My plan is to use 5" LH feathers with a proper helical and add weight to the front end. I figured I'd start with heavier field points from 3 Rivers, then maybe weighted inserts.

I hope this makes sense.

What do you think? I could use some help to clear this up.
Thanks,
Steve

Offline Diamond Paul

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Please help clear this up. Arrows too heavy/too light FOC?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2014, 02:00:00 PM »