3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Newbie here- greetings and some help  (Read 614 times)

Offline acedoc

• Trad Bowhunter
Newbie here- greetings and some help
« on: November 23, 2014, 07:14:00 AM »
Hi! I am a 34 year old guy working in healthcare and interested in any thing capable of launching a projectile. Cut my teeth on powder burners and of late have devoped a hankering for a trad bow.

I have read enough on this and other fora that my head hurts. I have to cater for everything needed by
Way of supplies and accessories my self. The options I like are the RTH packages at hunters friends.I can swing for up to 500 $ easily but more would be pushing my luck. The following fit perfectly in my budget
1) bear grizzly recurve
2) bear montana
3) pse mustang and ragim models

I am looking to get a 45lbs bow and as I am 6ft 3inches I estimate a 30 Inch draw.
Is the grizzly likely to stack when drawn to 30? And are the ragims/pse good enough to plonk down the cash? Spoke to mad dog archery also for a td recurve and while he can hook up the recurve he can't help me with the paraphernalia. That is where hunters friend scores in that it gives a complete RTH package for what that is worth.
Would appreciate any help the members over here with their collective experience can give me.
Regards
Toelke SS recurve
Toelke Whip
Sky Wildfire ilf with foam carbon xxl limbs

Offline ISP 5353

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Newbie here- greetings and some help
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2014, 07:57:00 AM »
First of all, welcome!

I draw 30 inches on my recurve and a little less on my longbows.  I have found that I like bows that are at least 62" long.  Some bows shorter than that can start to stack and finger pinch.