3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: strung backwards?  (Read 319 times)

Offline sheepdogreno

• Trad Bowhunter
strung backwards?
« on: December 01, 2014, 04:17:00 AM »
Im fairly new to traditional archery and i find myself always looking at used bows on the big auction site. i am seeing alot of sellers have their bows they are selling strung backwards for storage. is this safe to be doing or can it damage the bow?
I'd rather be judged by 12 then carried by 6

Tradtech Titan 2 is my go to platform

Offline Jon Stewart

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: strung backwards?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2014, 05:37:00 AM »
Being from the old school, I say NO to stringing a bow up backwards for storage.  Many on here will so it will cause no harm.  The string for a recurve is 4" shorter than the bow and with the bow strung up backwards there is a certain amount of reverse pressure being put on the bow limbs.

I say why not hang the bow, unstrung on  the wall or lay the unstrung bow on a couple of pegs on the wall.

Never lean the bow in the corner.

Offline sheepdogreno

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2014, 07:16:00 AM »
I agree with the thought of pressure being applied the opposite directions can't be good for it.they were designed to bend a certain way is how I see it

Offline ChuckC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2014, 07:36:00 AM »
this was pretty common back in the day.  They did it as a way to secure the string and keep it with the bow.  

Personally, when someone asks me what length string to use on a recurve I would suggest they measure that same distance for a start.  As long as the string is snug but not way short i can't imagine any damage to the bow.  I am not a bowyer, however.

CHuckC

Offline JamesV

• Trad Bowhunter