3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Fighting new batch of Woodsman heads  (Read 583 times)

Offline Hawkeye

• Trad Bowhunter
Fighting new batch of Woodsman heads
« on: October 01, 2007, 12:58:00 PM »
Hey, you Old Pros!

I've been using WW broadheads for the past 5 years, and have gotten very adept at sharpening them.

Last night, I sharpened two old heads for today's opener (one took two deer last year!) and then reached for a new one to add to my "back-up" stash.  I bought a dozen new heads this summer to have on hand.

I am sharpening with a one year old 12" Nicholson file that did a great job on the first heads.  BUT, when I went to the new ones, I couldn't get the file to cut- it seemed like the steel was much harder or something. The tail portion seemed to cut normally, but the middle and tip pretty much skid along unscathed.  Tried a second new head, and then a third, with much the same results.

I'm sure I'm missing something simple, but I sorta feel like I've been betrayed by an old friend.  Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks,

Daryl
Daryl Harding
"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose."  Jim Elliot

Traditional bowhunting is often a game of seconds... and inches!

Offline Tom Leemans

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Fighting new batch of Woodsman heads
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2007, 01:00:00 PM »
They might just be a little harder Daryl. I believe I'd try a fresh file before cussing too much at the heads. Good luck!
Got wood? - Tom

Offline BobW

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2007, 01:03:00 PM »