3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Hello, I need help..  (Read 665 times)

Offline VA Elite

• Trad Bowhunter
Hello, I need help..
« on: December 19, 2014, 08:49:00 PM »
Hey guys. New here. I have a longing for something different. Here is a little background on me. I have been bowhunting for 25 yrs. I started with an old bear recurve for a few years, never killed anything with it and moved on to a compound. I have some great succes with a compound over the years. I have a new Elite Energy 32 this year and have already killed 3 does. I have been thinking about traditional gear for about 3 years now and just have not had the guts to go for it. But as I approach 40, I want to change the way I hunt. The way i shoot, and how I can have a deeper connection to the woods and animals. So for right now I have limited funds. Im looking at a Samick Sage recurve. Because of money, I need something that I can shoot comfortably and learn good form, yet be powerful enough to kill deer. Im not in position to buy a really low poundage bow and then have to buy another one for hunting. I talked to the guys at 3 rivers. They told me since my draw length was 27" for a compound, that I would likely be 26" with a recurve. With that he said I should buy a 50# bow and actually be pulling about 46#. He said this was based on the fact that I pull 74# on my Elite. So I need help understanding if this weight is good. What spine arrows will i need? What is a good weight arrow? What habits do I NOT need to get into? Thanks for any advice.
If you profess with your mouth Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved Romans 10:9

Offline Kopper1013

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Hello, I need help..