3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New SBD bowstring and Arrow Question  (Read 331 times)

Offline JDow3

• Trad Bowhunter
New SBD bowstring and Arrow Question
« on: January 17, 2015, 09:14:00 PM »
Hey folks,

Noob here to trad archery and have already learned a bunch from the members on this site so thank you all.

I just picked up a new sbd bowstring from Pierre for my 64" Montana LB. I chose the ultra 6. I took it out this afternoon and did some backyard shooting and love, absolutely love the new string. The arrow penetration into my rinehart was noticeably deeper.

Now, I'm shooting a 50# bow with a 26" draw length. I'm shooting easton traditional only carbon arrows spined at 500 with 125 gr points. No inserts or anything. Pierre had mentioned that the recommendation for the sbd bowstring is 10gpi for the arrow for the ultra 6. My arrows are 30" and come in closer to 9gpi.

I shot the 500 spine arrows today and my accuracy was pretty much on par with how I normally shoot, still need some work. I do have some easton's spined at 340 for my compound bow. I decided to run them through my lomgbow with 125 gr points. The arrow flight was crazy on the 340s. I was all over the place and the arrows were sticking in the target kinda slanted.

So, my two fold question - The 340s seemed to stiff. Given the 500s shot well, should I change up and maybe try a 400 or just stick with what I've got.

Part 2 - If I stick with the 500, should I add some weight up front?  Maybe heavier grain points?  How does more weight up front effect the flight of the arrow?