3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What is the purpose of a tapered shaft?  (Read 462 times)

Offline Goose smasher

• Trad Bowhunter
What is the purpose of a tapered shaft?
« on: January 25, 2015, 03:54:00 PM »
I'm just new to traditional bows and I have seem several companies offering tapered shafts. What is the reason for tapering a wood arrow shaft???

Goose smasher
Little Crow Merlin 60" 52# @ 28"
Bear Super Kodiak 60" 55# @ 28"

Online Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
Re: What is the purpose of a tapered shaft?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2015, 04:02:00 PM »
It puts more of the arrow's total weight toward the front of the arrow.  We were doing this with wood shafts before high FOC became the rage. Tapering contributes to the arrow stabilizing more quickly upon leaving the bow.  That's the primary reason it was initially done on wood arrows. Of course, in wood, it also reduces the weight of the arrow a bit -- 20-40 grains depending on initial weight and length and amount of taper. Tapering wood arrows doesn't affect the spine much so it was/is a way to get lighter,faster arrows.  Most folks feel wood tapered shafts give tad bit better arrow flight.  It may be, but I've found well matched and tuned parallel woodies to fly well enough that I can't tell the difference.

Offline Goose smasher

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2015, 04:04:00 PM »
Oh,ok. I see what they mean now. Thank you very much Orion!

Goose smasher

Offline Kingstaken

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2015, 04:15:00 PM »
More feather clearance at the nock end where the profile is highest.
"JUST NOCK, DRAW AND BE RELEASED"

Offline slowbowjoe

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter