3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: nock removal from carbon arrows  (Read 541 times)

Offline neonbutterfly

• Trad Bowhunter
nock removal from carbon arrows
« on: February 06, 2015, 09:55:00 AM »
hi...i've been shooting gold tip 5575 traditional carbons for over 4 years and some of the fletching and cresting is looking pretty ratty.....

i  strip the feathers off and remove the cresting, a process which i've done before and then repaint and re feather....and lo and behold a new set of arrow for me.....

but here's my problem.....i can't get the yellow plastic nocks out...and i can't remember what type of glue that i used.....i've tried pulling them out with pliers but no luck, nada, zilch....they don't move......the nocks are yellow, but the new arrow color scheme will have white nocks...

any ideas on how to get them out?....thanks for your help guys!

bob
"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch.....Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote"    Ben Franklin

Offline Bud B.

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: nock removal from carbon arrows
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2015, 10:00:00 AM »
I hate to tell you this but I do not glue mine in. Never had any problems with them coming out while shooting.

You might be stuck with yellow (no pun intended).

If you have not fletched yet, you could cut off about 7/16" of the nock end to get rid of them but then tuning your new set might be a problem.
TGMM Family of the Bow >>>>---------->

"You can learn more about deer hunting with a bow and arrow in a week, than a gun hunter might learn all his life." ----- Fred Bear

Offline Bud B.

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2015, 10:04:00 AM »