3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Tuning education and headaches  (Read 507 times)

Offline the rifleman

• Trad Bowhunter
Tuning education and headaches
« on: February 25, 2015, 07:48:00 PM »
I decided when I started this post to not name names on the two bows.  Just to note that they are both Left Hand reflex/deflex bows made by well known bowyers.  Bow A is the one that I have been shooting for several years---it is marked 50 pounds at 28".  Our scale showed it to be 48 and change at 28" and 42 pounds at my 26.25" draw length.  This bow absolutely needed a very week arrow to tune well.   I use full length beman MFX 600s and Gold Tip blems 1535s both with 200 grains up front.  Bareshafting and paper show them to be tuned.
Bow B is a longbow that I just got.  I bought it to have a lighter bow for practice as I always shoot too many arrows during stumping sessions and then am sore.  It is marked 43 pounds at 28.  Our scale shows it to be 43.9 at28 and 40 at my 26.25" draw.  This bow will not tune with the 1535 Gold Tips---even when I have cut the bareshaft down to 27" it shows weak with 125 tips and weaker still (as expected with 200 grain tips).  To verify that I was not getting a false reading I shot a new full length gold tip 1535 and it showed weaker still.  I had a carbon express 400 and tried it and it showed stiff (as expected).  I am figuring that in order to get a perfect tune with this bow I will need to move up to a 3555.  This has me puzzled as the bow is lighter in draw and the shelves seem cut to around same distance to center (although I can only eyeball this).  The same 1535s cut down even to 29" were too stiff for bow A.