3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: having trouble paper tuning my 50# montana  (Read 463 times)

Offline Pryor

• Trad Bowhunter
having trouble paper tuning my 50# montana
« on: March 11, 2015, 12:38:00 PM »
Hi guys, I'm brand new to this forum, and traditional archery.  I've been shooting compounds for 5 or 6 years, and am excited to start going primitive.  I bought a 50# Bear Montana long bow about 6 months ago, and have been having a blast shooting it.  Been trying to get consistent groups before I tried to really finish tuning my bow,and arrows.  I thought I was getting close, but my paper tuning has become frustrating.
  I bought some Easton Legacy 2018's that were cut at 30".  to my eye they seam to be fish tailing, So I started paper tuning, and get a consistent nock left, and high tear.  I tried to get a stiffer arrow by reducing point weight,  (145 all the way down  to 75) but the tears have more or less stayed the same.  I have read threads saying that that arrow should be close. Now I am not sure that its not my form.  The arrows say 55-60# long bow on them.  
  I am trying not to buy new arrows, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
   Thanks
Learn to work, and you can learn to do anything.

Offline Zradix

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: having trouble paper tuning my 50# montana
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2015, 12:45:00 PM »
Welcome to tradgang!      :campfire:  

Are you left or right handed?
What is your draw length measure from the string to the deepest part of the grip?
How far from the paper are you..should be about 5-6 foot.
How far left and high are the tears?
If some animals are good at hunting and others are suitable for hunting, then the Gods must clearly smile on hunting.~Aristotle