3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Trying to get a shoot going at my club.  (Read 300 times)

Offline bear bowman

• Trad Bowhunter
Trying to get a shoot going at my club.
« on: April 13, 2015, 08:04:00 AM »
I'm pretty new to trad. I'd like to attempt to get my archery club to do a trad only shoot. What types of shots are the usual? I don't get a lot of opportunities to shoot trad only shoots so that's why I'm asking. I'm wondering about distances and the like. Any input would be appreciated.

Offline macbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Trying to get a shoot going at my club.
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2015, 09:14:00 AM »
The good thing about Traditional only is the targets,don't get,as,much abuse.
When I was able to shoot all day the 3D shoots I enjoyed the most included varried terrain, up and down hill shots. Challenging shots with part of the animal covered but not too far.
Very clos,shots are fun.
Do a lot of 15 to 20 yard shots then mix in a close one followed by a 28 to 30 yard shot.

If close to a major hunting season, like deer season keep all shots at a,reasonable distance and easier to let them build confidence.
United Bowhunters of Mo
Comptons
PBS
NRA
VET
"A man shares his Buffalo". Ed Pitchkites

Offline Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2015, 09:14:00 AM »
Hunting distances and situations are my favorites. A lot of hard work getting good shots set up but it makes a big difference.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline woodchucker

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2015, 09:43:00 AM »
I used to run a Traditional Only shoot every year at our bow club...