3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Should I expect compound accuracy?  (Read 855 times)

Offline bear bowman

• Trad Bowhunter
Should I expect compound accuracy?
« on: April 15, 2015, 11:10:00 AM »
I'm relatively new to trad again. I, throughout my life, have jumped back and forth on many occasions. I recently decided to go completely trad and not look back.
I'm loving it. I'm shooting better than I ever have in the past. That being said, should I expect tack driving accuracy? Obviously, I'm always going to strive to be better but I think my expectations are extremely high of myself.
So, do you guys expect tack driving accuracy? In the end, the reason I shoot other than for the enjoyment, is to put meat in the freezer.
This is something I've been thinking about for awhile now and was hoping to get some opinions.

Offline Bowwild

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Should I expect compound accuracy?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2015, 11:17:00 AM »
Depends of course how accurate you were/are with a compound.

No way for me.  I like to be on a pie-plate regularly at 30 so I can be less than half that at the distances I will shoot when hunting.  The compound with the release aid, sights, and "wall" as a draw reference are tremendous aids.

I don't even practice at 60 yards like I did with my compounds.

I sometimes have a compound around (not at the moment) just to once in while recall what it is like to "drive tacks" as you describe.

Offline Possumjon

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2015, 11:21:00 AM »