3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Your keys to being successful while turkey hunting..  (Read 583 times)

Offline DanielB89

• Trad Bowhunter
Your keys to being successful while turkey hunting..
« on: April 20, 2015, 01:21:00 PM »
I can tell from all the posts we have quite a few EXPERIENCED turkey chasers here.  Some are experienced in missing them  :) , others are experienced in missing a little less.

All Joking aside, I have no experience at all turkey hunting and with turkey season closing here soon, I likely wont get another chance to go after them this year.  But I do want to learn what the successful(missing counts as success) ones do?

Do you roost them? Use calls to locate them on the roost?  Owl Call? Crow Call? Poot really loud?  

Then once you locate them, what do you do?  

Or If you don't have any located on the roost, what do you do?

I know I am asking for a plethera of information, but I am trying to learn from the stick bow turkey slaying experts!
"Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD And whose trust is the LORD. Jeremiah 17:7

"There is a way which seems right to a man,
But its end is the way of death."  Proverbs 14:12

Offline TooManyHobbies

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Your keys to being successful while turkey hunting..
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2015, 03:02:00 PM »
Each turkey is different. The only one I shot with bow, was in a field with another tom and a hen. I crawled to an opening, waved the decoy, stuck it into the ground and backed off. No calling at all. They came to see the new girl.
Other times, I've copied a wild hen that was talking faster than I could call. I tried to keep up with her. It was a blast. And a bunch of jakes came in. No shots.