3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Point on shooters  (Read 486 times)

Offline tracker12

• Trad Bowhunter
Point on shooters
« on: June 02, 2015, 08:30:00 AM »
I started shooting point on with a fixed crawl to help me maintain my shot sequence.  I am really liking the style and actually have never shot any more consistent.  I'm wondering how you all deal with this method when using a broeadhead.  Especially if you are using a long 2 or 3 blade.
T ZZZZ

Offline ThePushArchery

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Point on shooters
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2015, 09:12:00 AM »
I use a 25 yard fixed crawl for hunting. I position my VPA 3 blade so I look right down between the V.

Bottom of chest for under 25, center of chest for 25, top of back for 30.

I tried orienting so a blade was top / vertical to see if I'd like using the blade as a graduated "pin", but it really messed with me. I don't like it being in my sight picture that way.

It's a deadly way to shoot. Consistent form is key.

Offline tracker12

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2015, 09:36:00 AM »
Never thought of using the "V" .  That's a great suggestion.  Guess I will need to position my 2 blades horizontally.  I am quickly seeing how deadly a system the fixed crawl can be.  Agree on the consistent form.
T ZZZZ

Offline Bellasm

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2015, 09:41:00 AM »
What I was planning on doing was setting a 20 yard fixed crawl and aiming at the bottom of the chest just behind the front leg. At less then 20 the arrow will fly a little high and hit the lungs without knowing the actual yardage and at 20 yards the deer will drop into the arrow when it reacts to the noise of the string, also producing a lung shot.

Offline ChuckC

• Trad Bowhunter