3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Question for you bear hunters  (Read 439 times)

Offline jonsimoneau

• Trad Bowhunter
Question for you bear hunters
« on: June 24, 2015, 11:25:00 AM »
I have no experience with bears. I was just wondering, for those who bait, how do you determine where to place a bait site? I imagine there is more to it than just randomly placing bait out in the woods.

Offline Manitoba Stickflinger

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Question for you bear hunters
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2015, 12:20:00 PM »
Not swamps and the places many misled hunters think a bait should go. Bears don't like wet feet any more than other species. Typical travel corridors, ridges, or nearby rivers and streams is a good bet. Use stink first then just quality bait after. Once you get one bear hitting the bait it's easy to attract others.

Offline Bowwild

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2015, 01:10:00 PM »
I did two DIY bear hunts in Ontario in the 80's before you had to have an outfitter.  That doesn't make me an expert but it did both successive years' bear tags.

We scouted two-track roads off main roads. We looked for bear sign. Mostly scat. When we found fresh sign we looked for places 75-150 yards from the 2-track.  We looked for good tree stand spots considering local wind and sun for evening sits.

We then baited those sites.  We'd place baits (about 6-8) 2-3 miles from one another. We were careful to discretely mark them so others wouldn't find them.  After 1-3 days of baiting we always had 2-3 active baits and had shots of bears the first time we sat in the stands. On two, 5-day hunts we killed 5 bears.

We used old pastries in "onion bags" wired about 5 feet up a tree. Sometimes some meat scraps mixed in.