3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Nearing my first bowhunt  (Read 416 times)

Offline Simba

• Trad Bowhunter
Nearing my first bowhunt
« on: July 17, 2015, 02:25:00 PM »
So, I'm a novice hunter. I just started hunting in 2011 as an adult, self-interested and self-taught by reading, trial-and-error, and the occasional advice from an experienced vet. I grew up in an anti-gun, and, for the most part, anti-hunting family. However, as someone always drawn to the wild, whether in my backyard as a young boy, or the mountain wilderness as a young man, I've yearned to learn how to be part of it, not just a spectator. To join the ecosystem as a forager, predator, and care-taker. I started hunting with rifles as that is the overall norm across the nation. My first hunt was for mule deer on an 1100 acre private property (I wasn't a resident early enough to enter the public land draw) in NM in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains with an SKS. I knew VERY little of what I was doing. Since then, I moved to Utah and have hunted public land during the general season with a bolt action .308, learning the hard way: mostly unguided experience.