3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Skinny string adding hand shock to a bow?  (Read 866 times)

Offline jonsimoneau

• Trad Bowhunter
Skinny string adding hand shock to a bow?
« on: August 20, 2015, 08:20:00 PM »
Has anybody had this happen? I had a bow with an 18 strand string. I put a new 8 strand on it made from BCY D-10 on it and now this bow which had zero hand shock has noticible hand shock. Normally when I do this the opposite occurs. Anyone know what's up?

Offline VA Elite

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Skinny string adding hand shock to a bow?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2015, 08:22:00 PM »
i think it adds shock. seemed like mine did. but im a newbie so take it with a grain of salt
If you profess with your mouth Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved Romans 10:9

Offline VA Elite

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2015, 08:25:00 PM »
what i mean is i had an 8 strand and when i went to a ten ring string the vibration became less
If you profess with your mouth Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved Romans 10:9

Online katman

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2015, 09:06:00 PM »
Might try adjusting brace height a little.
shoot straight shoot often

Offline fnshtr

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2015, 09:14:00 PM »
Never had that happen. I have replaced stock strings on several bows with 8 strand strings.

?????????

Good luck.
56" Kempf Kwyk Styk 50@28
54" Java Man Elkheart 50@28
WVBA Member
1 John 3:1

Offline dnurk

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2015, 09:32:00 PM »