3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Thinking about trying carbons  (Read 657 times)

Offline Crittergetter

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
Thinking about trying carbons
« on: September 06, 2015, 01:36:00 PM »
Why? Well, why not?! When I started shooting trad about 3 years ago I started with woodies and have shot them exclusively. I enjoyed making them and thought I was being more "traditional". I now wish to broaden my narrow mind and try something new. Looking for something that will take some abuse without costing an arm and a leg?  Anyone use the blems from Big Jim? Also need some spine recommendations. All my bows are within a pound or 2 of 50# at my draw length.
An elitist mentality creates discord, even among the elite!
"I went jackalope hunting but all I saw was does!"
Luck is when preparedness meets opportunity, I just need more opportunities!

Offline 9 Shocks

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Thinking about trying carbons
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2015, 02:01:00 PM »
I use the blems.  They work great.  If you draw 50 or so around 28"s I'd go with a .500 spine.  But your draw length will have a lot to do with it.
60” Bear Mag Takedown 47@28
58” Schafer Silvertip recurve 47@27
58" Primaltech Longbow 48@28

Offline Producer

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2015, 02:19:00 PM »