3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Dumb question  (Read 324 times)

Offline bear bowman

• Trad Bowhunter
Dumb question
« on: September 08, 2015, 04:52:00 PM »
I see posts quite often regarding tuning arrows. I'm relatively new to all of this so here is my question or questions.
I see that so and so shoots a 50# bow and shoots a certain spine weight carbon. He only draws X" so his draw weight is more like 46#. Why is it that one persons setup at a certain weight could vary so much from mine or anyone else's? Are the bow efficiencies that varied?
I ask because I shoot roughly 47# with a 35/55 and 175 up front and the next guy will shoot 55/75 out of a similar set up with about the same weight up front and get good results also?
I'm a little confused to say the least. Again, I'm pretty new to this stuff.

Offline DDawg

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Dumb question
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 05:01:00 PM »
If I'm getting what your asking,
The stated draw weight of a given bow is usually based on a baseline draw length of 28".  Hence, 50# at 28".
So if your draw length is less than or greater than 28" you will be pulling less/more weight than 50#'s, and that must be compensated for in your arrows.
I kinda new too so sorry if I miss read your question.
Chuck Norris had a Grizzly Bear rug in his room...The Bear wasn't dead,  just to afraid to move...
PBS Associate Member
60" , 45# Holm-Made River Runner

Offline Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2015, 05:04:00 PM »