3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Best type of string  (Read 688 times)

Offline M Beach

• Trad Bowhunter
Best type of string
« on: September 10, 2015, 05:15:00 PM »
What is the best type of string to use on the Bear Super Grizzly? Looking to try to quiet the shot even more.

Offline Producer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Best type of string
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2015, 05:31:00 PM »
I would ask Allen at Ten Ring Strings. I think the new Bear come with D-97. I just ordered a D-97 from Allen but I have never tried one before. I mostly use B-55 but I am trying something new because they seem to be like a living organism and never stop streaching. I have never found a major audible difference in strings. I beleive any bow and string can be made to be quiet with tuning and various silencers.
What gives me wings? Flying with my arrows over and over again. And never giving up...For giving up means not believing...

Offline LostNation_Larry

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2015, 08:10:00 PM »
The new Super Grizzly is Fast Flight compatible and comes with a DF 97 string.  Of course, the Super Grizzly's made in the early 70's were not FF compatible.

Personally I like a DF97 flemish Twist string.  I use brace height and silencers to tame the noise, not a different strand count or string material.
www.lostnationarchery.com
Where "Traditional" means "Personal Service."

Offline dbd870

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2015, 08:37:00 PM »
One made by Allen!
SWA Spyder

Offline Jayrod

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2015, 08:42:00 PM »
Originally posted by dbd870:
One made by Allen!
DEFINITELY!!! TRY one of his fast flight strings in the Fury material
NRA Life member