3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Some days...it's hard...  (Read 907 times)

Offline Archer1977

• Trad Bowhunter
Some days...it's hard...
« on: October 19, 2015, 07:39:00 PM »
Hard to stay motivated to stick to traditional. I have been practicing solely with my longbow for going on 8 months and I still cannot even maintain a reasonable grouping even at 10 yds. Is this normal? Ive read books, watched videos... I am at my wits end. I shoot at a plain ol target I put about a half dollar sized spot on. Is there better ways to practice. Any recommendations.
Dwyer Longbow 48#

Offline VA Elite

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Some days...it's hard...
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2015, 07:47:00 PM »
I have been at about the same amount of time. here is what helped me.
1.first I shot a ton of arrows.
2.then I got used to the weight of the bow and tuned my arrows
3.the more I shot the more I developed my own anchor and method
4.from then until now I have worked on form and release.
5. you have to want it more than anything. that means shooting every chance you get...
this is what has worked for me.
If you profess with your mouth Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved Romans 10:9

Online BAK

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2015, 08:02:00 PM »
Find a MENTOR.  There must be someone near you that could assist.  

You can't imagine how much that helps.
"May your blood trails be short and your drags all down hill."

Offline bowberry

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2015, 08:13:00 PM »
make sure your arrows are tuned to your bow.Spine ect. That caused me lots of heart ache in the beginning.Read every thing you can in the form section.