3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What time do you get to your stand in the morning?  (Read 560 times)

Offline PeteA

• Trad Bowhunter
What time do you get to your stand in the morning?
« on: October 27, 2015, 08:12:00 AM »
I've been hunting with a bow for 35+ years. I'm basically a weekend hunter in a bow only suburb 50 miles outside NYC.
Hunting primarily on public land. I have always been a firm believer to walk in in the dark and get on stand 45 minutes before light. Hopefully to beat the croud. So I'm usually heading in to my area at 5:00am with flashlights and moving as slowly and quietly as possible. I have about a 45 minute to 1 hour walk in to the area I hunt.
I've resently had some conversations with a few members of my crew who believe in walking in at twilight vs dark. The thought is, why walk in, possibly with deer around you without being able to see them.

What are the rest of you guys doing?
Predator Hunter 46#@28
'70 Bear Kodiak Hunter 45#@28
'72 Bear Grizzly 45#@28

Online Sean B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: What time do you get to your stand in the morning?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2015, 08:45:00 AM »
Pete, I usually go in well before light, mostly to let the Woods settle down a bit. I want those deer that are cruising just at twilight to be undisturbed. Plus, it gives any sent left down to dissipate.  I've had other hunters push deer out on me by going in late near my set up. It gets frustrating.
Sean
PBS Regular Member
Comptons
NY Bowhunters Association
BW KB X
BW PCH X
BW PSR X
Robertson Tribal Styk

Offline VA Elite

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2015, 08:53:00 AM »
go in at dark...always have. I like to watch the light appear from the stand.