3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: MAACP hunt and learning tough lessons  (Read 277 times)

Offline Randy Strickland

• Trad Bowhunter
MAACP hunt and learning tough lessons
« on: November 16, 2015, 06:03:00 PM »
As I stated in a post before the season started, this is my first year hunting with traditional equipment. What I didn't mention was that I am fairly new to hunting all together. My father did not hunt. He didn't have the patience. My grandfather did not hunt. He too....no patience.

But the outdoors......I can't resist it. So, a few years ago I purchased my first compound bow at a garage sale for 60 bucks and a wish. A wish that would go completely unfulfilled. I never took a deer with that bow. I had a couple of shots, but I either froze or missed.

So this year, after purchasing a Shrew Classic from one of the trad faithful here, I embarked on my first season with a longbow. It's been memorable. I've had opportunities, but no shots. I passed on a small fork and horn about a month ago. I did kill an armadillo the same night I passed on the small buck, but the little jerk broke my arrow (lesson learned there).

Luckily though, I drew in to the MAACP hunt this year. I have been excited about this trip all year. A number of us from our church drew in on the same weekend, TSALT and others. I got to see a couple of stud bucks get brought in to camp which was very exciting. I also had a couple of close encounters during my weekend.