3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Nock Height?  (Read 528 times)

Offline gutfish

• Trad Bowhunter
Nock Height?
« on: November 17, 2015, 06:45:00 AM »
I have been shooting a longbow for about 4 months now. Coming from a compound shooting stand point we use 1/8" nock height in our shop for just about everything (it seems to work the best for tuning). Ive been reading people are running the nock height on longbows and recurves much higher between 1/4" to 9/16". Is this true for most? I am shooting a Toelke Whip right now and was just looking for some imput on this topic to help better my shooting. Thanks and sorry if this is on the wrong thread.

Offline Alexander Traditional

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Nock Height?
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2015, 06:49:00 AM »
All of my longbows including my Whip are at 5/8"

Offline GregD

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2015, 07:26:00 AM »
I will second Alexander's answer, both of my whips like 5/8". Good Luck.

Offline Brock

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2015, 07:27:00 AM »
Yes, any book or article on tuning and setting up your bow will recommend something up to about 1/2 inch but every bow, arrow and shooter combination may require something different...

I start at 1/4" and work up to about 3/4 or when I notice bad arrow flight and then work down until it resides or starts bad again...then go in the middle to start.

Usually I have found that most of my bows with my shooting style do well at same location all other things being similar...then I draw a mark on my Nocking Square.

I shoot 11/32 and 23/64 shafts so mine is a bit higher than if I would shoot skinny carbons...